Stephen King – The Dark Tower Series

Stephen King – The Dark Tower Series: These sublime stories carry Old-West elements of science-fiction, fantasy, and horror all around.

Stephen King - The Dark Tower Series

The Series

“The Dark Tower Series” is a sequence of stories written by Stephen King, between 1970 and 2012, widely considered to be (and described by King himself as) his best work. It is a series of eight books and a novella that incorporates elements of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and Western stories.

They revolve around Roland Deschain’s quest to find and protect a fabled Dark Tower. Besides all novels that compose it, many of his other books relate back to it, introducing concepts and characters that come into play along this plot. After its final chapter, a series of prequel comics followed.

Inspired by a poem by Robert Browning, King introduced elements, taken from Lord of the Rings, King Arthur’s legends, and Sergio Leone’s spaghetti westerns, as admitted influences and tributes. Stephen King recognizes Clint Eastwood’s “Man with No Name”, a recurrent character in many of Leone’s films, as a prime inspiration for his protagonist.

It is evident how King named places using Tolkien’s style. Also, a language developed specifically for these stories shows that influence.


Authorthe shining by stephen king

Stephen King is an American, well renowned, and highly prized author of popular horror, unusual and science fiction literature. (read mini-bio)



In The Dark Tower Series, Roland is a last remaining member of an order, some Gunslingers (some kind of cowboy templars) and a line of Arthur Eld (remember King Arthur? ). He lives in a parallel world similar, and, yet, quite different from ours. mixing scenarios between the Old West, European Dark Ages, High Technology, along with Magical elements that are fading away. Roland’s quest is to find and protect a mythical Dark Tower.


The Books

  1. The Gunslinger (1982)
  2. The Drawing of the Three (1987)
  3. The Waste Lands (1991)
  4. Wizard and Glass (1997)
  5. Everything’s Eventual (2002)
  6. Wolves of the Calla (2003)
  7. Song of Susannah (2004)
  8. The Dark Tower (2004)
  9. The Wind Through the Keyhole (2012)

Many works for cinema, television, and comics have been done and are planned for the future.

Please, leave a comment about Stephen King – The Dark Tower Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *